News > EEMA Presents Lifetime Achievement Award to Jos Dumortier

Honorary Professor of ICT Law, Member of the Bar of Brussels and Partner at time.lex
Presented with EEMA’s Highest Accolade at ISSE 2017

BRUSSELS, 22nd NOVEMBER 2017 –  EEMA,  the leading independent not for profit, European think tank focussing on identification, authentication, privacy, risk management, cyber security, the Internet of Things and mobile applications, has presented Jos Dumortier with its Lifetime Achievement Award.  The Honorary Professor of ICT Law at the University of KU Leuven, member of the Bar of Brussels and partner at time.lex – a law firm specialising in information technology law –  received EEMA’s highest accolade at EEMA’s ISSE conference in Brussels.

Roger Dean and Jos Dumortier

Jos Dumortier was the founder and first Director of the Interdisciplinary Research Centre for ICT and Law, and Research Leader in the iMinds research institute in Belgium. With his research team he participated in more than 75 European and national ICT-related R&D projects, focusing on privacy and identity management, information security, e-health, e-government and e-business. Jos is also the editor of the International Encyclopaedia of Cyber Law and the author of more than one hundred books and articles on legal issues related to the information society.

Jos Dumortier became an active EEMA member in the late 90s, in the period of the enactment of the first European and national laws on electronic signatures. He comments: “I chaired EEMA’s Legal Interest Group. With my research group at KU Leuven university, I also hosted a number of EEMA workshops and conferences and was awarded EEMA Member of the Year. Since I left the university and became full-time partner at time.lex in Brussels, I have continued to attend EEMA events as a regular speaker and I am also an ISSE programme committee member.”

EEMA’s Director of Special Projects, Roger Dean, states: “Throughout his career, he helped start the professional careers of well over a hundred ICT lawyers who’ve flocked out all over Europe, and I know all of them are tremendously grateful to him for the opportunities he’s offered them, including some in this audience. And he did it all whilst being a wise and kind mentor to everyone.”

Dean adds: “Jos has also been a major contributor to EEMA, both in terms of intellectual and practical activities over many years, including hosting EEMA conferences at KU Leuven.”

Previous recipients of the EEMA Lifetime Achievement Award include Stuart McRae (IBM) Ronny Bjones (Microsoft), Andrea Servida (European Commission), Kim Cameron (Microsoft), Roger Dean (Founder of EEMA) and Reinhard Posch (Austrian Federal Government).

Download full press release in pdf