News > EEMA presents Lifetime Achievement Award to Hugo Kerschot

Recognising Contribution to the Advancement of e-Identity in Europe and Major
Contributions to EU Horizon 2020 Research & Innovation Projects

BRUSSELS, 17th NOVEMBER 2020 – EEMA the leading independent European Think Tank focused on identity, privacy and trust, today announced Hugo Kerschot of the IS-Practice, as the 2020 recipient of its prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award. The award was presented on the first day of EEMA’s ISSE ‘Vision for European Security and Trust’ Webinar Series, on Tuesday 17th November.

Hugo Kerschot is the Founder and Managing Director of the Flanders-based IS-practice, a programme management office in the domain of digital innovation for the public sector in Europe. For more than 10 years he has led a team participating in projects addressing issues of e-Identity, trust, and security, as well as eGovernment policy, open data and smart city and smart mobility initiatives. He also was an advisor at the Cabinet of the State Secretary of the Brussels-Capital Region, for Informatics and Digital Transition.

Prior to the IS-Practice, Hugo worked as a Director of Information of the Services of the Belgian Prime Minister, during which time he launched the first Belgium public service website in 1995. Following this achievement, he developed a web-based survey on Electronic Public Services for the European Commission, which became the European reference for eGovernment status measuring.

Hugo’s ten-year collaboration with EEMA began in 2010, when both parties worked on SSEDIC – an EU-funded project which aimed to provide a neutral platform for all eID stakeholders to collaborate and prepare the agenda for a single European digital identity community. In 2017, Hugo was appointed to the EEMA Board of Management and working alongside other board members and the executive team, he is a prominent figure in support of EEMA’s education programme and its participation in Horizon 2020 Research & Innovation projects, such as the LOCARD.

Chair of EEMA, Jon Shamah states: “Hugo has and continues to make a significant contribution to EEMA’s rich and diverse portfolio of activities in Brussels and throughout Europe. His expertise at a governmental level, coupled with project knowledge and a professional network that is second to none, make him an important figure at EEMA. What’s more he is a pleasure to work alongside.”
Hugo comments on the award: “I am honoured to accept this award from an association that I have long respected and which makes an important contribution in advancing of digital transformation in the EU and wider Europe. I am proud to share in this important work alongside my EEMA colleagues”

The EEMA Lifetime Achievement Award is given in recognition of a career and contribution to advancing technology in Europe for the benefit of government, enterprise, and citizens. Previous winners of EEMA’s highest honour include Frank Leyman, BOSA’s Manager International Relations; Dries Van Bilzen of the European Commission; John Erik Setsaas of Signicat; Honorary President of EEMA, Kim Cameron; EEMA Treasurer, Rick Chandler: and lawyer Prof. Dr. Jos Dumortier.

Download in PDF